Our Board Members

The work of the MNTB is overseen by a board made up of representatives of shipping companies, seafarer unions, maritime educational establishments and interests.  The Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA) and the Department for Transport have ‘assessor’ status at the Board, and the Maritime Skills Alliance attends Board meetings by invitation.

The Board’s Chairman is Captain Kevin Slade FNI

KS Photo (2)

Kevin Slade commenced his career at sea as an Apprenticed Navigating Cadet with the P&O Group in 1966 and served on a variety of ships with P&O Bulk, The Geest Line and Uiterwyk Lines before being promoted to Master in 1979.

After working ashore in Sea Containers and Stena Line, Kevin was appointed Personnel Manager and then Board Director for Northern Marine Management Group in Glasgow, before retiring in 2014.  In 2009 Kevin founded the Stena Group of Maritime Institutes (STAMI).

Kevin was appointed MNTB chair in March 2015.

The Board consists of:

Employer Members

Gemma Griffin, DFDS
Tim Springett, UK Chamber of Shipping
Mark Bobby, Gardline Geosurvey Limited
Richard Graham, RFA
Ian Hampton, Northern Marine Management
Harry Knox, DOF (UK) Limited
Dieter Jaenike, Viking Recruitment
Matthew Jaenicke, Viking Recruitment

Seafarer Organisations

Mark Dickinson, General Secretary – Nautilus International
David Appleton, Nautilus International
Lee Moon, Nautilus International
Derek Byrne, Nautilus International
Martyn Gray, Nautilus International
Darren Procter – RMT Representative
Mark Carden – RMT representative
Vacancy (x1) – RMT representative

Educational Members

Paul Little, Principal & CEO – City of Glasgow College
Neil Atkinson, Head of Fleetwood Nautical Campus
Syamantak Bhattacharya, Southampton Solent University
Colin McMurray, Clyde Marine Training
John Wyborn, Chair IAMI
Simon Ashton, South Shields Marine School (IAMI)

Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Harry Deans, Maritime & Coastguard Agency

Observer status

Kerry Hourihan, Department for Transport